I Have Decided

Aren’t you just longing to know what it is I have decided?

Well, at any rate, regardless of your interest, it’s very pertinent to this blog: hence I will now proceed to inform you of my decision.

I have decided… to become a great writer. Not just a writer… I’ve been a writer since I was, oh, about five.

An excellent writer.

And just how do I intend to achieve this status? The good old-fasioned way: practice. And then more practice. And more practice. And… you get the idea.

I have made it a goal (as of last night) to spend at least one hour daily in concentrated effort to improve my writing skills– in many areas. I tend to just write whatever comes naturally and easily (for example, what I am writing this minute.) instead of really pushing myself and trying new genres or attempting new styles with the types of writing I already practice.

I tend to write fairly quickly, do a quick read over, make one or two changes, and post it.  I am good at editing for others, but it is rare that I take the time to rewrite my own work and polish it up until it is the best I can make it.

And I get by… in fact, I would say my writing about as good or better than most of the blogs I read. But is that enough? Is it okay for me–a self-proclaimed rebelutionary and follower of Christ– to settle for merely getting by? No, it isn’t.

“Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might; ” (Ecclesiastes 9:10a)

Doesn’t sound like sliding by, does it?

Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God(1 Corinthians 10:31)

I really don’t think God is glorified very well if we don’t seek to use the gifts He has given us to the fullest…

Do you see a man[n] who excels in his work? He will stand before kings; He will not stand before unknown men. (Proverbs 22:29) 

Last night, my papa pointed out this verse in the discussion in which I decided to practice great writing daily: if we become excellent at something, we then have a “platform” with which to reach more people for Christ.

I am going to become a true rebelutionary: instead of merely surpassing the current expectations for young adults (Which comes quite easily, unfortunately… the expectations are pathetically low. And, on top of that, I have a natural talent for writing.) I am now going to exceed the expectations for Carissa.

And that means all those hard, rebelutionary type things: going out of my comfort zone, doing little, boring repetitive tasks, pressing on in spite of difficulties and set backs… It means many many posts on here, the majority of which will not be top quality: they will be learning experiences and rough drafts and experiments.

But if you happen to like watching someone learning, feel free to witness my flounderings and my successes… and offer advice, direction, ideas, and perhaps even some encouragement.

Your devoted Authoress,

Carissa Lynn

P.S. Oh, and quick note about the title of this blog… I started out with Authoress, decided that was probably taken, and, in an effort to personalize it, thought of adding “Lynn” to the end– but then decided that wasn’t creative enough, and so I made up a new word– Authoressalin. It ends up being a combination between Authoress, Carissa, and Lynn. Pretty neat, isn’t it?

2 thoughts on “I Have Decided

Leave a Reply

