Justice?

Last night, my family and I watched the following video by Francis Chan:

In it, he says, “Maybe God has a more developed sense of Justice than we do?” (or something very like that, I’m not super good at exact quotes. :P)

There are many things in the Bible that are hard to stomach: times where God orders the slaughter of many. It doesn’t seem good or just to us… how could He do that?! It’s not right!!

17Shall mortal man be more just than God? shall a man be more pure than his maker? Job 4:17

I don’t pretend to fully understand it: in fact, I know I can’t. But I have been pondering this whole subject since last night (not very long, I know. I’m sure I’ll think of more things as I continue to think about it.) and I realized something.

When we get to heaven and see with our eyes how holy, Holy, HOLY God is, suddenly it will make sense. Suddenly we will know that those people had to die: that His justice and holiness required it.

Leave a Reply

