Oh, the Things You Hear…

… when you’re the oldest in a family of eight children. 😀 I thought it would be fun to share a few of the funnies (and a few more serious ones as well) I’ve collected from over the past few years… primarily from William and Matthew.

William: Carissa, WHEN are you going to get married?? (He had this belief that when you turned twenty, you got married. Well, I turned twenty, and I still wasn’t married!!)

Carissa: I don’t know…

William: Are you going to talk to someone? Are you going to ask them something?

Carissa: Like what?

William: Like, “what is your name?”… “Oh, I like that name! Do you want to marry me?”

(William knows how to do these things–just get straight to the point.)

____________________________________________________________

Matthew: Are the Duggars in heaven?

Carissa: no, they live in Arkansas

Matthew: I don’t know where that is

Carissa: we can look on a map…

Matthew: Are there dragons in Arkansas?

__________________________________

Papa: (After reading a Bible story) What is praying?

Matthew: Talking to God

Papa: Have you ever fasted?

Matthew: Yes

Papa: What is fasting?

Matthew: I don’t know… it’s fast!

__________________________________

Carissa: Won’t it be fun when I have children?

Matthew: Yeah, cause then I’ll be your Grandpa!

(That one still makes me laugh out loud… :D)

__________________________________________

William, about his stomach making noises: “The bugs made a piano in my stomach and it makes music!”

____________________________________________

Matthew: “I’m pretty strong, too– I can chew hard things!” (said like we say “do hard things”)

_________________________________________

Matthew: “I was kidding because I thought they were kids.”

___________________________________________

Matthew: William is a mom

Carissa: No, he is not. Why did you say that?

Matthew: I was kidding. That’s what kidding is like

__________________________________________

Matthew: “Ohayoo Gozimasu! Ohayoo Gozimasu! Ohayoo Gozimasu! That means good night in Spanish!

(um, actually, it means good morning in Japanese. :D)

___________________________________________________

Matthew: God’s microscope is called His eyes

_________________________________________________

Matthew: We are just moving grains of salt.

________________________________________________

Matthew: They have a short family–only four people!!

______________________________________________

Matthew: we’re going to get out the mustard, and the manatees… (mayonnaise) (He said manatees on purpose, just for fun. 😛 :D)

_______________________________________

Questions:

Why does God want us to be alive on earth so long?

Why is the sun a fiery ball? Why is it so hot?

How does gravity keep an upside down person on the ground?

What would happen if the sun touched the earth?

(And that is just a very small sampling of the sort of questions we have to try to answer… I shall have to record more next time I venture to lay in bed with them as they are “falling asleep”…)

Leave a Reply

