I’m having trouble settling down to any particular topic.. .so I thought I’d try and free write a bit, just to find out what’s going on in my mind. I’m listening to Be Thou My Vision… I was trying to work on a post about “Reckless Abandon” and before that one about Prayer… but both of those topics are too big for my mind at the moment. The house smells delicious right now–Hannah is baking samples for people to try at church tomorrow (so they will buy some to raise money for her upcoming mission trip.) The air is lovely… not too cold and not too warm. It must be breezy out.. the wind chimes are clanging cheerfully. I’m now listening to “Who am I?”… it’s amazing. God is amazing… who but Him could come up with all of this? Who but Him could love us?? What a God we serve!

Over and over, I keep thinking… there really is no other choice but to be fully devoted to Him.. completely surrendered. It’s the only thing that will make sense on judgement day.

There’s… so much more to this whole life thing than merely being a “good Christian” who goes to church, doesn’t do anything too awful, has a nice house and two cars, gives money to the church sometimes… the world is sick (and dying as a result of) of such shallow Christianity… as I saw it written recently… “materialism with a few Bible verses tacked on”.

I recently had the privilege to be able to talk to a few people about Church… and God. One girl said she wasn’t into the religion stuff… she’d had Catholicism forced down her throat when she was little. I tried to point her to The Real Thing… God Himself. “Religion”, at least the way she meant it, is man made. (Trust us to make God and His Story boring!!) I shared my excitement over realizing that the God who made all of these marvelous things loved me and died for me… This is exciting, folks!! People should see it in our faces, hear it in our voices. Oh, that God would fill us to such an extent that we could not contain our joy in Him! Would that His hope and love would spill out of us! That people could see Him in us!

I talked to another lady who had neighbors who attended church every week: and were mean every other day of the week. She said they thought they could do whatever they wanted and then be forgiven at church. And followed that up with “that’s not my kind of God.” Of course I cringed inwardly–it isn’t up to us what kind of God there is. But on the other hand: those people were representing God. Granted, they were doing a terrible job. But regardless, they were representing. They had branded themselves as at the very least “Religious”… and so people looked at them and took their actions to represent their god.

People do the same with us. They know, especially when you make distinctly unworldly lifestyle choices, that you are (or at least claim to be) Christians. Followers of Christ. What they see in me… is what they will think of Christ. Yikes. * is very glad His power is working in me * Oh, people! This is SO important. People are DYING. They are going to hell.

And why? Because we do not know God. Not really. If we knew Him… how could we go on calmly playing and working for vain things– letting people perish? How could we go on skimming glibly through His Word? How could we go on praying fake, passionless, small prayers? How could we go on caring about which color flip-flops we have or don’t have? How could we go on allowing sin in our lives?

We don’t have time for this! Eternity is too long for this! We must seek Him. We must get to know Him. And how? By reading His word, by praying, by observing His creation… And then we must share this glorious relationship, this most wonderful of news… WE can know GOD!! 😀

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

