[RD]Love

I want to write about something, but I really don’t quite know how to go about it… so I suppose I shall just start.

Love.

I’ve learned a lot about it lately. I’m still not very good at it.

Last night Dr. Parker said that the way you know you’re in love with someone is that you just can’t stop thinking about what you can do for them.

Now I was very happy, because someone finally answered that question, and they got it right!! šŸ˜€

And I have known that love. Both given and received.

The circumstances have changed, and the way it manifests itself is completely different.

And yet, it’s still there and I still want to do all I can.

But right now “all” I can do is pray… but prayer is something, and it it something big. And even if I never see the person in this life, I will still love them. Oh it will change even more, and it will get covered up… but it is God’s love, and it doesn’t go away.

The thing I’m learning about love is that it hurts. There is no escaping this.

God loves, and His heart breaks over us. But He goes on loving.

Pain is not an excuse to stop loving.

Another thing I’m learning is that giving your heart away is not a one time deal. It isn’t as if you can only give your heart to one person (of the opposite gender) and then done and it’s all up with you.

No. We are called to give our hearts to everyone. This kind of love–where you can’t stop thinking about what you can do for the other person–this is the kind of love we as Christians are called to. And it isn’t limited to just one person and it isn’t limited to marriage.

Yes, I know, there is a different sort of exclusive love that is for marriage, but I’m talking about the other part. The part where your focus is not on you, it’s on the other person and what you can do do make their life better.

The part where you are so invested in them that their pain hurts you. The part where it hurts you to see them sin. The part where you willing give of yourself–your time, your money, your talents–to bless them. The part where you become vulnerable to hurt by them, because you opened yourself to them.

Yeah. The kind that hurts. The kind that makes you cry.

Once I was talking to God and I half joked to Him that it’s a good thing He knew about this “love stuff” cause I was confused… and He just overwhelmed my heart with just how much He knew about “this love stuff”.

I started crying. (this was back when I didn’t cry very easily at all…)

I don’t know if you ever seen it like that–if you ever been impressed deeply with HOW much He loves us, and how much it hurts Him to be rejected time and time again…how much it hurts Him to see His beloved children making choices that wound and destroy them… how He longs to give them everything, and yet they just won’t come to Him…

It’s a horrible, wonderful thing.

Love.

It’s the total absence of selfishness. Which is why I’m so bad at it…

The opposite of love is not hate… it’s selfishness. Once you figure that out it all makes much more sense…

It’s putting the other person’s needs and wants above your own, focusing totally on them. Making sacrifices.

It’s Jesus dying on the cross.

 

Leave a Reply

